Keep On Your Mean Side…

Yes indeed, it is the second day in a row that I’m talking about The Kills. I love them, okay? In all seriousness, though, I have a valid explanation too. After writing my post about The Kills yesterday I realized I own ‘Midnight Boom’ and ‘Blood Pressures,’ but I had never listened to their album, ‘Keep On Your Mean Side’ all the way through. (Yes, I know I’m leaving out ‘No Wow.’ One album at a time…)

So, in light of the fact that I felt like a bit of a hypocrite, I will be listening to the whole album and posting my thoughts today. Also, I already did a photoshoot inspired by the idea of ‘Keep On Your Mean Side.’

My first thoughts are, “Why did I not listen to this sooner?” Seriously, what was I thinking? I’m buying this album the first chance I get. It is so good! I always thought it couldn’t possibly be as good as ‘Midnight Boom,’ but they’re both so good in their own ways. I’d say ‘Keep On Your Mean Side’ is a bit tougher in its sound, as its name would suggest. Granted, there is a gem of a slow song (‘Gypsy Death And You’ (By the way, that is such a great title, and it has one of my all time favorite things in it: a laugh. I love it when musicians laugh somewhere in their song or on their album, it’s so great!)), which to me is the ‘Goodnight Bad Morning,’ if you will, of this album (Or I suppose the ‘Pots And Pans’ if you’re looking for an equivalent on ‘Blood Pressures’). However, the rest of the album has an old school industrial feel to it. I don’t know how else to describe it. ‘Midnight Boom’ is a much more up-tempo, almost dance-y album, if you will. It just makes you want to move. ‘Keep On Your Mean Side’ may have the same effect, but in a bit of a slower way.

One of my favorite tracks isn’t even a song at all. The track ‘Hand’ is just Alison, at least I think it’s Alison, talking about the weather man and how he has to go in early to get makeup put on his hand. It’s so obscure, but so genius. Seriously, go listen to it.

Two other things I really loved and noticed about this album were the predominant role Jamie played, which I loved because I’m a huge Jamie fan, and the bluesy undertone. All the songs feel like they have something deeper under them to me. Alison sings differently than I’ve heard her. If you listen to the first track, ‘Superstition,’ you might hear what I mean. The bluesy undertone I’m talking about is also really clear in ‘Wait.’ Plus, you can hear Jamie so clearly in a lot of these songs.(‘Kissy Kissy’ is the best example, to me, of how the two things I mentioned work together.) Granted, he doesn’t sing a song by himself like he does on ‘Blood Pressures’ (‘Wild Charms’ is the song, in case you were wondering.), but instead of being that beautiful bass undertone, he’s closer to the forefront. However, he’s still in the background sometimes, but he’s really good at both things, so it shouldn’t be anything too surprising.

As always, this album contains a few things I have come to love and expect from The Kills: heavy beats, strange noises and sound effects (which I love anyways, and if you do too, you should definitely listen to ‘Superstition’), and overall amazing, though sometimes seemingly random, lyrics.

So enough of my rambling, right? I’m sure you all didn’t need my help to know that The Kills rock. Anyways, I hope the review was at least remotely entertaining. Here are the pictures I took. They were inspired by the punk feeling that comes over me from just hearing the title, ‘Keep On Your Mean Side.’ It makes me think of a really dysfunctional, crazy relationship. That’s kind of the core of punk music to me. I wouldn’t necessarily say The Kills are punk, but what do labels matter? That’s the explanation, I hope you like them.

I didn’t want these to be quintessentially ‘pretty.’ To me, that’s not what ‘Keep On Your Mean Side’ is about. It’s about the ugly side of things, “show your sharp-tipped teeth,” right? (Yes, that’s not from this album, but it’s still fitting.)

Okay, I can’t help but enjoy how ugly this next one is. I hope you like it in the same strange way I do.

(That’s one gnarly face.:))

Jacket & Cupcake Necklace (By the way, it did not taste good.): Forever 21

Shirt: Lauren Conrad for Kohls

Ring: Lucky Jewelry

(Sorry, I honestly don’t remember what gold necklace I was wearing.)

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

