Hello Happiness!

Today is the first day of November. Yes, great observation, but what does that mean? That means the start of NaNoWriMo. If you don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, aka November. This month is a month where lots of people choose to participate in, and some are forced to participate in, a month of writing that is supposed to end in a 50,000 word novel. It  is a fantastic undertaking, not necessarily in quality, but definitely in size, and I will be undertaking it. If you are also a crazy person that is participating in NaNoWriMo, please tell me what you are planning to write about. I, personally, am adapting a rather old project and hoping to turn it into something readable. Maybe I’ll talk more about it in the future.

The point is, I am challenging myself with NaNoWriMo, and hoping to get the whole 50,000 this year. However, I am also adding the challenge of keeping up with this blog. Hopefully I will be successful on both fronts.

So, now let’s talk about something else. Music!

I am more than a music fanatic, and I go through these phases where I literally listen to one song, or a group of songs from the same artists, hundreds of times in a row before I tire of them. When I’m addicted, it’s hard for me to break away from the obsession. That being said, my latest obsession has been the amazing British indie band, Los Campesinos! (Their name has the exclamation point, like Panic! At The Disco used to. Correct me if they’ve changed that.)

Their lyrics are brilliant, and they have the most interesting sound: it’s like an orchestral mix of singing and sing-talking with British accents.  Anyways, their new album, Hello Sadness, is coming out on the fifteenth of this fine month, and after hearing the single, ‘By Your Hands’ I am already hooked. I thought I would share that bit of joy with you all today.

I am obsessed with this video, and, of course, the song itself. (Seriously, who thinks of something this amazing: “You send me lullabies in form of your cat calls?” The answer: Los Campesinos!) Then, whilst I was listening to it on repeat, I noticed the sidebar on youtube. I found a cover of the song that I am also obsessed with. I was curious to see one person adapt this song acoustically, and I have to say that the guy I found did an impeccable job. Here you go!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

